You can easily delete your twitter account as long as you deactivate it and let it stay that way in excess of 30 days. Note that all your data, feeds and media files will be deleted and you won’t be able to recover them.
Many individuals and businesses use Twitter daily, in recent times however a lot of people are now deleting their twitter accounts for a number of reasons. Twitter is very unique and as you go to try and delete your account you may realize that you don’t know how to quite get your account permanently deleted. Here you will find all the information you need for permanently deactivating and deleting your Twitter account.
Why Delete Your Twitter Account
There are many reasons people have for deleting their twitter accounts. For most the peer pressure involved in social networking, cyber bullying, having your information everywhere are just some of the reasons.
- If you are not using your twitter account anymore then you could go ahead and delete it. There is no sense in having a social presence if you won’t be using it. Instead of trying to adapt to this method of social networking you can just go right ahead and delete your account.
- If you are being constantly harassed online they you can definitely make the step to deleting your account permanently. Yes there is the option to block and report persons harassing you on the social network’s platform but some of the tweets will still show up even if the user is blocked. Depending on how nasty the comments may be you may not want them showing up for your friends, family members and followers to see.
- If your twitter account is for business use and the business is closing down then you can go ahead and close the twitter account along with other social media accounts connected to the business.
How To Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account In A Nutshell
To permanently delete your twitter account you first have to deactivate the account. You can find the link to use in your account settings. Once you deactivate your account from here it will become effective right away and then after 30 days your account will be permanently deleted once you don’t log back into your account for the next 30 days after deactivation. At this point all your feed, data and media will be deleted and removed from the database at Twitter.
Deactivating Your Account
When you are ready to deactivate your twitter account you will have to log into twitter.com on a computer, as the deactivation option is not available from any mobile device. Once you select the deactivation option your account will go into twitter’s queue of accounts to be permanently deleted. Here are the steps to follow for deactivating your twitter account;
- Sign into your twitter account from a computer or laptop. You cannot do this through the twitter app and must do it from the webpage.
- Once logged in you will find the “deactivate my account” link within your account settings page at the bottom of the screen.
- Read the information that regards deactivating your account and once you are clear and satisfied you can click on the link “Okay, fine, deactivate account”.
- After clicking on that link you will be prompted to enter your password and verify that you want your account deactivated.
Things To Know Before You Deactivate Your Account
- Your user data is only retained for 30 days after you deactivate your account. After the 30 days twitter starts deleting your account from their database in a process that can take a total of a week.
- During the first 30 days of deactivation you can reactivate your account by simply logging into the account.
- Deactivating your account is not necessary for changing your email address or username. You can easily change these in your account settings at any time. If you would like to use your email address and username on a different account you will need to change them prior to deactivating your account.
- Please note that Twitter has no control over search engines and their content. As such you may still find links and content in search engines results pages.
- Most often your content is removed from twitter within a couple minutes of deactivation on occasion some old content can be found there for a couple days after the official removal of the account. Twitter cannot control this but you can request that the search engine take it down.
Re-Using Your Email Address And Username After Deactivation
If you want to reuse your email and username after deactivating your current account here are the steps you need to take prior to deactivation.
- Go to twitter on the web.
- Find your settings page under your profile icon.
- Enter a new username into the username field
- Change your email address in the field for email address
- A confirmation email will be sent – you must confirm the new email for it to take effect – this is a very important step
- After confirming the new email you can now use your old username and email address
- You can now go ahead with the steps above to deactivate your twitter account.
Don’t confusing deleting your Twitter Account with deactivating it. Deactivation of your Twitter account is the first step towards deleting it permanently. If you deactivate your account and then log in within 30 days then your account will be removed from the deletion queue. You will then have to go back and deactivate it and wait another 30 days from the new deactivation date for it to be deleted permanently. Before you deactivate your account, ensure you really want to do this and have done all the necessary things so you will not end up logging in again within the next 30 days. Save whatever contacts you have and tell people goodbye if needs be so that once you deactivate you don’t have to log in again so your permanent deletion can go smoothly and according to schedule.